May 22, 2019

Wrestlers Fall in Districts

Senior Erich Menq. (Inji Kang’19/Media editor)

The Columbus Academy wrestling team’s season ended on March 2, as none of the competing grapplers advanced to the state tournament.

Keir Gorosope’21 was competing in the district tournament as an alternate for the 126 weight class, as he advanced due to his fifth-place finish at sectionals. Sadly, Gorosope fell in the first round to fellow sophomore Anthony Roby of Madison Plains, and then came up short in the consolation bracket to senior Kasen Delancy of Fort Frye.

Chris Sugar’21(132) came into districts as the two seed after his stellar performance at sectionals. Sugar was upset in the first round by sophomore Devon Watkins of Sandy Valley, but knocked off freshman Kobe Rust of Coshocton in his first match in the consolation bracket to advance. His season came to an end in the second round of consolations, as he fell to senior Garrett Louterbaugh of Crooksville.

Senior Eric Menq was also the second seed in the 170 class, and his district tournament mirrored the performance of Sugar. Menq fell in his first match to sophomore Hunter Everett of Trimble, but then defeated junior Kanyon McKee to advance. He then lost to first seed Charles Smith in the second round of consolations.

Ethan Stahl’21(182) was the third sophomore Viking to compete, and he followed the path set by Gorosope. He, unfortunately, lost his first two matches, which made for a disappointing end to a promising sophomore season.

Freshman Gyvynn Mendenhall was the lone first seed for the Vikes. Mendenhall opened the tournament strong, defeating Fort Frye sophomore Thomas Lenhart. He then lost to junior Ian Joyce of Trimble, who came into the tournament with a spectacular 35-5 record. However, Mendenhall remained alive in the consolation bracket, defeating junior Michael Herbst of Fredericktown. Unfortunately, Mendenhall couldn’t keep rolling, falling in a tightly contested match to Jordan Sanders of Newcomerstown.

The efforts of the Vikings earned them a 26th place finish in the district. While seniors Bobby Diller, Cole Duffy, Thomas Jones, and Menq will surely be missed, a strong group of returning wrestlers led by Gorosope, Mendenhall, Stahl, Sugar, and freshman Zara Syed will lead Academy on to greater heights next year.