Press enter or return to search.


Taylor Swift’s “1989”

When she announced her debut pop album, Swift faced mixed reactions. Some were relieved that she finally admitted she was no longer loyal to her original genre, country. Some were skeptical of the switch and thought it meant her music would be nothing different than that infuriating pop repeated 24/7 on WNCI, especially after her release of the cheery single “Shake It Off.”

1989 is like nothing we have heard from Swift. The sound is electronic and echoey, much more mature than any of her previous albums. The topics are also more mature. Previously, the most risqué we heard from Swift was “Treacherous” from her album, Red, a song using innocent metaphors which could be interpreted to mean something racier. But with 1989, Swift does not shy away from more suggestive topics. “Wildest Dreams” and “I Know Places” are by far the most racy songs we have heard from the once-innocent country writer.

But despite the new, older vibe of the album, Swift’s lyrical genius is still evident. Every song, from the upbeat “Bad Blood” to the ballad “This Love” is full of the same metaphors we have recognized and loved on each of her four other albums. The sound may come from a newer, older Swift, but her attention to the lyrics and meaning has not changed.  This album is different enough for new listeners to embrace but still true to the Taylor whom die-hard fans know and love.

Track List:

  1. Welcome To New York
  2. Blank Space
  3. Style
  4. Out of the Woods
  5. All You Had To Do Was Stay
  6. Shake It Off
  7. I Wish You Would
  8. Bad Blood
  9. Wildest Dreams
  10. How You Get the Girl
  11. This Love
  12. I Know Places
  13. Clean


Written by Kendall Silwonuk’15


Comments are closed.